Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a chronic disorder of the central nervous system that disrupts the normal functioning of the brain, optic nerves and spinal cord through inflammation and tissue loss. It is estimated that 127,000 people in the UK are living with MS,1 and approximately 3% to 5% of patients experience disease onset before they reach the age of 18.2  In adults, there are three types of MS: 

 SPMS Link

MS, multiple sclerosis; PPMS, primary progressive MS; RRMS, relapsing-remitting MS; SPMS, secondary progressive MS.


  1. Mackenzie IS et al. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry. 2014; 85(1): 76–84. 
  2. Patel Y et al. Ann Indian Acad Neurol. 2009; 12(4): 238–245.
  3. Lublin FD et al. Neurology. 2014; 83: 278–286.
  4. National MS Society. Types of MS. Available at: https://www.nationalmssociety.org/What-is-MS/Types-of-MS [Accessed November 2019].
  5. Lublin FD et al. Neurology. 1996; 46: 907–911. 
SIP20-C001a May 2020.

Ask Speakers


Medical Information Request

Adverse events should be reported. Reporting forms and information can be found at www.mhra.gov.uk/yellowcard. Adverse events should also be reported to Novartis via [email protected] or online through the pharmacovigilance intake (PVI) tool at www.report.novartis.com
If you have a question about the product, please contact Medical Information on 01276 698370 or by email at [email protected]